A fairly short post about the new track by the fairly well-known Rockabilly band ‘The Baseballs.’ Those of you who aren’t familiar with the band; they use modern songs in the charts and cover them in a rockabilly/do-wop style. Not too thrilled with them to start off, I needed a bit of convincing.

When ‘Candy Shop’ came onto my boyfriend’s cd player in the car one night I was suddenly interested – after a version of ‘torn’ by Natalie Imbruglia that wasn’t particularly to my taste I found myself wanting to dance or sing or whatever else and turned the thing up.

Although covering well-known and sometimes irritating rap tunes and naff r+b stuff, I think what makes the Baseballs interesting is their diverse textures and techniques. For example in Candy Shop, they use everyone’s voice as much as possible with exciting harmonies and add interest with the steady intro and contrasting middle eight. Although very talented musicians, I can’t help but feel that they should push themselves a bit further. I would personally love to hear some of their original stuff – it’s clear that they are exceptionally telented and definitely have the potential to do so. Come on Baseballs, show us what you’re really made of!

But back on topic, their new release is pretty wicked. It would be nice to see a few more modern bands doing some proper music! The original song was released by 50 Cent, so it’s a bit of an insult to even compare the two; of course the Baseballs’ version exceeds every standard that 50 Cent apparently set.

Go out there and buy the single on CD because it’s bloody brilliant.

